Nächste Termine

No events found.

  • A-
  • A+

TRAVELLING WITHOUT MOVING – MOVING WITHOUT TRAVELLING

THE FILMAKADEMIE OPENS AN INTERNATIONAL OFFICE – INTERNATIONALISATION IN THE AGE OF A GLOBAL PANDEMIC

Twenty-eight years after it was established, the Filmakademie is opening an international office in a move that expresses the institution’s commitment to internationality, to broadening horizons and to working in global networks (see press release in this publication). Behind this is a vision of Baden-Württemberg as a centre for the media industry; the region’s global connections in the field of animation represent an inspiration for all other areas of film and media work.

Before international networks can be established on an industry level, however, it is down to us as a practice-oriented university to lay the foundations through personal contact between our students and their fellow students around the world. That is how relationships and trust are established – that is the basis on which artistic and business connections can flourish. Now, as a high priority, internationalisation also offers the Filmakademie an opportunity to synchronise the activities of the core area and the Animation Institute more closely. Through the world-leading FMX – Conference on Animation, Effects, Games and Immersive Media, which is organised by the Animation Institute, there exist strong contacts with top-class specialists who can enhance the curriculum of the entire school in spectacular fashion. Conversely, the International Office has extensive knowledge of the global film school landscape, from which animation students will benefit when it comes to studying abroad. 

In turn, mobility – personal, physical and individual – is the instrument at the heart of a sustainable internationalisation based on personal contacts. At the time of writing, this foundation, the freedom to travel we enjoyed before the COVID-19 crisis, seems as if it might have disappeared for good. The rapid and overwhelming developments we are currently experiencing may make the Filmakademie’s vision of internationalisation seem almost like a counter-cyclical enterprise. But does that mean it would be wiser to focus the film school’s diverse provision more strongly on the German-speaking market again? No. 

We are taking on the challenge and are planning ahead for what is admittedly an uncertain future where it is possible to travel freely once again. In dialogue with our numerous partners we are sensing, however, that there is no going back to how things were before the crisis. Many institutions are using this enforced break to review structures and processes, and to consider how these may be changed. In this respect there also dwells within this crisis an opportunity to question existing structures and to adapt to changing realities. 

With this in mind, the Filmakademie is preparing to take an important step: as of winter semester 2022, project-based study courses at the Filmakademie will be bilingual and open to applicants with a command of either English or German. If we look for a silver lining, the current travel restrictions are creating the necessary space for the changes and preparations that are required here: regulations are being adjusted, language courses are being offered to staff, and a number of processes are being scrutinised before all project-based study courses are made bilingual. 

In a parallel development, we will also be increasing the number of outgoing students taking semesters abroad. The target of integrating a mandatory year abroad into all courses of study represents a real paradigm shift. While in the past it was possible upon request to leave the academy for a year to study abroad, in future students will be required to submit an explanation if they do not wish to complete a year abroad. All students will benefit in future from the academy’s international orientation. Even those who do not complete a year abroad will, as part of their project-based studies, have close contact with foreign students. 

This kind of change requires very precise coordination with the teaching departments. Relevant course options for students are currently being developed, with specific international elements being added to the film academy’s outstanding training and education provision. The search for distinguished partner institutions is well under way. 

The focus is on the world’s great film industries: Hollywood, Bollywood and Nollywood – the USA, India and Nigeria. There will also be an increased focus on partnerships within Europe because links with leading European film schools allow graduates to immediately expand their professional sphere of activity to include neighbouring territories. Morocco, as a neighbour of Europe, also remains an important focus for internationalisation since a sustainable network and comprehensive expertise have been developed there in recent years. 

The starting point of these developments is this list of current partner institutions, which will be updated and added to over the coming years: 

  • AFDA – The South African School of Motion Picture, Live Recording and Live Performance, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Al-Quds University, Ramallah, Palestine
  • Colombo Film & Television Academy, Colombo, Sri Lanka 
  • Docubox, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Dodge College at Chapman University, Orange County, California
  • École Nationale Supérieure Louis Lumière, Paris, France
  • FTII – Film & Television Institute of India, Pune, India
  • Gobelins l’école de l’image, Paris, France
  • Kibbutzim College, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • La fémis, Paris, France
  • Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri
  • Maisha Film Lab, Kampala, Uganda
  • Maharashtra Institute of Technology, Pune, India
  • NDU – Notre Dame University, Beirut, Lebanon
  • UDC – Universidad del Cine, Buenos Aires, Argentina

 


International Office

Guido Lukoschek
Head of International Office
Tel:+49 7141 969 82 194
E-Mail

Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Head of International Office
Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg
Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien

• A-
  • A+

Traveling Without Moving - Moving Without Traveling

Die Filmakademie eröffnet ein internationales Büro - Internationalisierung in Zeiten globaler Pandemie

Im 28. Jahr ihres Bestehens eröffnet die Filmakademie ein Internationales Büro und bringt damit ihr Bekenntnis zu Internationalität, zu einem breiten Horizont und zum Arbeiten in globalen Netzwerken zum Ausdruck (siehe Pressemeldung in dieser Publikation). Darin wohnt auch eine Vision für den Medienstandort Baden-Württemberg inne, dessen weltweite Vernetzung im Bereich der Animationsbranche eine Inspiration für alle weiteren Bereiche des Film- und Medienschaffens darstellt.

Bevor aber internationale Vernetzung im industriellen Maßstab erfolgen kann, liegt es an uns als praxisorientierte Hochschule, die Grundlagen dafür zu schaffen: durch persönliche Kontakte unserer Studierenden mit Kommilitonen aus anderen Weltregionen. So entstehen Beziehungen und Vertrauen – das Fundament für spätere künstlerische und geschäftliche Verbindungen. Der Filmakademie bietet die hohe Priorität der Internationalisierung jetzt auch die Möglichkeit, die Aktivitäten zwischen Kernbereich und Animationsinstitut stärker zu synchronisieren. So bestehen durch die vom Animationsinstitut organisierte und weltweit führende FMX – Conference on Animation, Effects, Games and Immersive Media Kontakte zu hochkarätigen Spezialisten, die den Lehrplan der ganzen Akademie in spektakulärer Weise bereichern können. Umgekehrt verfügt das Internationale Büro über eine umfangreiche Kenntnis der Filmhochschullandschaft, die der Mobilität der Animationsstudierenden zugute kommen wird. 

Mobilität, persönliche, physische, individuelle Mobilität wiederum ist das Instrument im Kern einer nachhaltigen und auf persönlichen Kontakten basierenden Internationalisierung. Zum Zeitpunkt der Entstehung dieses Texts aber erscheint uns diese Basis, die (Reise-)Freiheit, die wir vor der Covid-19 Krise genießen durften, wie die „gute alte Zeit“. Die überwältigen und extrem beschleunigten Entwicklungen dieser Tage lassen die Vision der Internationalisierung der Filmakademie fast als ein antizyklisches Unternehmen erscheinen. Aber wäre es deshalb klug, die mannigfaltigen Ausbildungsangebote der Akademie wieder verstärkt auf den deutschen oder deutschsprachigen Markt auszurichten? Nein. 

 

Stattdessen nehmen wir die Herausforderung an und planen für eine zugegebenermaßen unsichere Zukunft, in der freies Reisen wieder möglich sein wird. Im Dialog mit unseren zahlreichen Partnern spüren wir zugleich, dass es ein Zurück zu den Verhältnissen vor der Krise nicht geben wird. Viele Institutionen nutzen die Zwangspause, um Strukturen und Prozesse zu überprüfen und bestehendes zu hinterfragen. Insofern wohnt auch dieser Krise eine Chance inne, Existierendes zu hinterfragen und den veränderten Realitäten anzupassen. 

 

In diesem Sinne bereitet sich die Akademie auf einen großen Schritt vor: ab dem WS 2022 wird das Projektstudium an der Filmakademie bilingual, die Aufnahme wird ab diesem Zeitpunkt gleichberechtigt für Bewerber*innen mit englischen oder deutschen Sprachkenntnissen möglich sein. Die aktuellen Reisebeschränkungen schaffen, das ist das positive, derzeit Kapazitäten für die Vorbereitungen und Veränderungen, die an der Akademie selbst vorzunehmen sind; Regularien werden angepasst, es gibt Sprachkurse für Mitarbeitende und viele Abläufe stehen auf dem Prüfstand, bevor das gesamte Projektstudium in die Zweisprachigkeit überführt werden wird. 

Parallel dazu werden wir auch die Zahl der Outgoing-Mobilitäten steigern. Die Zielsetzung, ein verpflichtendes Mobilitätsjahr in den Studienverlauf zu integrieren bedeutet einen echten Paradigmenwechsel. War es zuvor auf Antrag möglich, die Akademie für ein Jahr zu verlassen um im Ausland zu studieren, wird in Zukunft eine Begründung verlangt werden, wenn Studierende kein Mobilitätsjahr einlegen möchten. Zukünftig werden also alle Studierenden von der Internationalität der Akademie profitieren, denn selbst wer kein Mobilitätsjahr macht, wird sich im Projektstudium in engem Austausch mit ausländischen Studierenden befinden. 

Ein derartiger Umbruch erfordert eine präzise Verzahnung mit den Abteilungen der Lehre. Für Studierende werden derzeit entsprechende Angebote entwickelt, die die hochwertige Ausbildung an der Akademie um spezifische internationale Komponenten erweitern. Die Suche nach profilierten Partnerinstitutionen ist in vollem Gange. 

Die Schwerpunkte liegen dabei auf den großen Filmindustrien der Welt: Hollywood, Bollywood, und Nollywood – USA, Indien und Nigeria. Daneben wird ein verstärkter Fokus auf die Partnerschaften innerhalb Europas gelegt, denn die Vernetzung mit den führenden europäischen Filmhochschulen ermöglicht Absolvent*innen die unmittelbare Erweiterung ihres beruflichen Aktionsradiums um benachbarte Territorien. Zudem bleibt Marokko als Nachbar Europas ein Land im Fokus der Internationalisierung, weil es hier in den vergangenen Jahren gelang, ein tragfähiges Netzwerk und eine umfassende Expertise aufzubauen. 

Ausgangspunkt der Entwicklung ist die Liste unserer gegenwärtigen Partnerinstitutionen die in den kommenden Jahren fortgeschrieben und erweitert wird: 

  • AFDA – The South African School of Motion Picture, Live Recording and Live Performance, Johannesburg, Südafrika
  • Al-Quds University, Ramallah, Palästina
  • Colombo Film & Television Academy, Colombo, Sri Lanka 
  • Docubox, Nairobi, Kenia
  • Dodge College at Chapman University, Orange County, Kalifornien
  • École Nationale Supérieure Louis Lumière, Paris, Frankreich
  • FTII – Film- & Television Institute of India, Pune, Indien
  • Gobelins l’école de l’image, Paris
  • Kibbuzim College, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • La fémis, Paris, Frankreich
  • Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri
  • Maisha Film Lab, Kampala, Uganda
  • Maharashtra Institute of Technology, Pune, Indien
  • NDU – Notre Dame University, Beirut, Libanon
  • UDC – Universidad del Cine, Buenos Aires

International Office

Guido Lukoschek
Head of International Office
Tel:+49 7141 969 82194
E-Mail

Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Guido Lukoschek
Head of International Office
Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg
Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien